Quick Tips

What are “Clauses”? How many clauses in ISO 9001 ?

ISO 9001 version 2015 (ISO 9001:2015) has a set of sections we called as “clauses” that guides you to implement Quality Management System (QMS). There are a total 10 clauses, but clauses 1 to 3 aren’t mandatory. Meaning External Auditors will focus more on Clause 4 and above.

The mandatory requirements for ISO 9001 implementation or QMS starts from Clause 4 onwards:

  • Clause 4 : Context of Organization
  • Clause 5: Leadership
  • Clause 6: Planning
  • Clause 7: Support
  • Clause 8: Operation
  • Clause 9: Performance Evaluation
  • Clause 10: Improvement

All these clauses are core elements in fulfilling ISO 9001:2015 requirements. These clauses are basicly similar to all other latest version of ISO standards management system. The idea behind it is if your company wish to apply for more than 1 ISO, you can do so by integrating all of it in one system. Saves time, cost, money and headache.

For this, your company will need to implement all these clauses in order to maintain or to certify for ISO 9001:2015. We will go through each clauses one by one.




Disclaimer: All views expressed on this site are based on experience from consultants and do not represent the opinions of any entity whatsoever, or will be affiliated.